Skip to main content

Are Fruits vegan? - Shellac

 Shellac 



If Eve was to walk in a super-store and be spellbound  by a shiny Apple that created all the problem , she sure will find herself picking the the apple coated with Shellac.




Yes you read that right , Shellac . Almost all commercially available citrus fruits are coated with it . Most of us know of Shellac as a non - toxic polish that prevents the wood from loosing moisture. Shellac plays the same role in food industry too , it is often present in a lot of food commodities disguised as  "Candy Glaze” , “ Confectionery Glaze” ,

“ E904“ , “ Lac resin” and more . 









Vegetables and fruits produce their own  wax, but once harvested and processed , which usually involves rinsing and washing ; the natural wax is partially or completely removed from the surface of the fruit.  This wax is of great use as it 

  • inhibits the mould growth
  • Slows down ripening 
  • Prevents the loss of moisture from the fruit 
  • Also acts as a barrier against microbes 
  • Keeps fruit firm , fresh and plumpy 

In the absence of this wax the fruits becomes too susceptible to damage and it’s shelf life is reduced almost to half . 




Apples without shellac begin to soften at a higher pace compared to their coated cousin.




Shellac is used in waxes for citrus fruits.Fruits like Apples, Oranges, Avocados,Lime, Pineapple usually are coated with shellac to make them sit on grocery store for a long time . 

It goes by the name Lac Resin or E904 in food industry. Shellac is derived from female lac bug, a bug that is native to India.



 The secretions of the insect is heated , refined and then approved by the authorities to be used on fruits and other food commodities. So calling fruits vegan would be a wrong choice , they can be vegetarian but definitely not vegan . I stumbled across this discovery while I was helping a vegan friend to get back in shape and I had to do a little research on food options . 


Manufacturers have found a loop hole in the entire system to hide this from consumers as the Shellac is a natural secretion, there is a  high probability that all or most of the organic foods may be carrying it. In some cases ( candies) it is mentioned on the label but it’s not a necessity. FDA approves it , recognize it safe and Vegetarian not vegan.


 


So to answer the question-are fruits really vegan ? Yes they are, in their natural form plucked from tree they are vegan but once processed for market they no longer are vegan -  but are vegetarian . The nutrition of the fruits is in no way altered by this . So most of us can still enjoy the sweet ,Citrus and savoury taste of an orange on a sunny day or an Apple to keep the doctor away. 

Comments

  1. Very meaningful information 👍🙏

    ReplyDelete
  2. Well researched and informative 😊👍🏻

    ReplyDelete
  3. Thanks for taking out time to give it a read ...means a lot Dawg

    ReplyDelete
  4. Well written and very informative 👍

    ReplyDelete
  5. This is impressive Dev. Good job!

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment

Popular posts from this blog

A Death Pin in your Brew

Ontario has just witnessed its first flurry and I was out in the  morning , chilly winds blowing through my hair with a cup of Chai tea in my hand and the words , ` There is something in the nature of tea that leads us into a world of quiet contemplation of life.’ - by   Lin Yutang   made so much  sense  .  It is the second most consumed drink , second only to the  water. Health benefits of tea have been highlighted in manuscripts , for years it was believed  that it caused a placebo effect-but as the modern day science unraveled tea , it has provided a basis for this belief.  Tea has been cultivated for years around the world not merely for its taste but also for  medicinal properties and every research published in scientific literature provides a stronger  evidence for these claims.  Tea is loaded with antioxidants and polyphenolic compounds ( catechins and theaflavins) that provide most if not all the health benefits . They have been shown to be beneficial in cardiovascular disease

Food Frauds

  How many times as a consumer you have walked inside a grocery store or liquor store or a fast food junction and asked the question ‘Is my food ethically made?’. Conscience is an ability that distinguishes whether one’s actions are right or wrong. There are many companies that let go of their conscience and follow unethical practices , so this serves as a potential risk for the consumer. These insatiable hunger for profits often cloud the judgement of manufacturers, and this temptation leads to adulteration, or inferior quality food commodity being made. I could not think of a company that would love to lose its revenue. One example of this unethical practice was made by Nestle. In 2018 Nestle India was served with summons regarding their excess content of MSG in their top selling commodity Maggie noodles. The company tried to add extra MSG to their spice recipe, MSG is a flavour enhancer and there are limits set to its consumption. MSG is also linked with its potential carcinogenic e